Public Holidays in Ireland

Public holidays in Ireland

There are 9 public holidays in Ireland each year. Public holidays may commemorate a special day or other event, for example, St Patrick's Day (17 March) or Christmas Day (25 December). On a public holiday, sometimes called a bank holiday, most businesses and schools close. Other services, for example, public transport still operate but often with restricted schedules. The list of public holidays each year is as follows:

  • New Year's Day (1 January)
  • St. Patrick's Day (17 March)
  • Easter Monday
  • First Monday in May, June, August
  • Last Monday in October
  • Christmas Day (25 December)
  • St. Stephen's Day (26 December)

Good Friday is not a public holiday. While some schools and businesses close on that day, you have no automatic entitlement to time off work on that day.

How is the date of Easter Monday determined each year?

Easter Monday is the only public holiday that can vary significantly from year to year. The date of Easter moves every year within the international calendar for civil use. Broadly speaking, Easter should be the first Sunday after the first full moon occurring on or after 21 March. This means that the earliest possible date for Easter Sunday in any year is 22 March, the latest is 25 April.

Easter Monday will fall on the following dates between 2019 and 2021: 22 April 2019, 13 April 2020, and 5 April 2021.

Further information

For further information on public holidays in Ireland, please find link to the Citizens Information website below.

Public holidays (Citizens Information website)