Our website uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience and to collect information about how you use this site to improve our service to you. By not accepting cookies some elements of the site, such as video, will not work. Please visit our Cookie Policy page for more information on how we use cookies.


Competent Authority

The Law Society of Ireland is the professional body for solicitors and exercises statutory functions under the Solicitors Acts 1954 to 2011. The functions performed by the Council can be divided into three categories; Education & Admission, Regulation & Discipline and Protection of clients.

Procedures required for qualifying to practice as a Solicitor in Ireland

Qualified outside the EU

The Qualified Lawyers Transfer Test (QLTT) is a conversion Test which enables lawyers qualified in certain countries outside Ireland, to qualify as solicitors in this jurisdiction. There are two sittings of the test each year - usually Summer and Winter - at the Law Society.

Before entering for the QLTT examination, an applicant must first obtain a Certificate of Eligibility from the Law Society's Education Committee.

Qualified in England, Wales or Northern Ireland

Unless the Society otherwise determines, solicitors whose first place of qualification is England and Wales or Northern Ireland are not obliged to pass any subject in the QLTT. However, they need to complete a Certificate of Admission.

Qualified in the EU

Nationals of a Member State of the European Union who are qualified to practice as a lawyer in their home Member State may be able to register as a foreign qualified solicitor under the Establishment Directive (98/5/EC). EU Registered Lawyers

Contact details

Please find  the relevant contact details for  the Law Society in the link  below.

Contact details


The above is for general information purposes only. All further queries regarding this information should be directed to the competent authority listed.