Our website uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience and to collect information about how you use this site to improve our service to you. By not accepting cookies some elements of the site, such as video, will not work. Please visit our Cookie Policy page for more information on how we use cookies.


The following is for general information purposes only. All further queries regarding this information should be directed to the competent authorities listed below.

Competent Authority

As and from 1 January 2018, the Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board is the regulatory body for all horseracing in Ireland. The Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board was set up by the Turf Club (established 1790) and the Irish National Hunt Steeplechase Committee (established 1866) for the purpose of carrying out the regulatory and licensing functions for Irish horseracing.
The IHRB has responsibility for licensing participants in horseracing in Ireland including: jockeys, jockey’s agents, valets, racehorse trainers, and the licensing of racecourses in Ireland. The IHRB also has responsibility for the registration of stable employees.

Horse Racing Ireland is the body in Ireland responsible for the overall administration of Irish horseracing, other than services operated by IHRB, as set out in the Horse and Greyhound Racing Act 2001.


Licensing Procedures

If you are a service provider in the horseracing industry, you can obtain further information on the IHRB sections below.

Contact details